Australian High Commission
Fiji

About us

Australian High Commission in Fiji

Working hours: 

  • High Commission:  8.00am to 4.30pm Monday to Friday
  • Except for public holidays (see below)

Street address:    37 Princes Road, Tamavua, Suva

Postal address:    P.O. Box 214, Suva, Fiji

 

Head of Mission

John Williams is the Chargé d'affaires of the Australian High Commission in Fiji.  He is a career public servant with over 25 years experience developing and implementing Australian foreign, trade and development policy in the Indo-Pacific, with a focus on South-East Asia and the Pacific. 

John has extensive experience advancing key bilateral relationships including in Indonesia, Thailand, China, Laos, the United Kingdom and Solomon Islands. He has a strong background in communications and media.

Before arriving in Fiji on 1 September, John was the Assistant Secretary of the Fiji and Vanuatu Branch in Australia’s Office of the Pacific in Canberra. He previously led Australia’s Pacific Regional Engagement Branch. John will serve as interim Chargé D’Affaires until the Australian Government appoints a new High Commissioner to Fiji.

 

Public Holidays 2022

The Australian High Commission will be closed on the following days:

  • 14 December - Fiji National Elections
  • 26 December - Christmas Day
  • 27 December - Boxing Day

 

Public Holidays 2023

The Australian High Commission will be closed on the following days:

Public Holiday

Date to be Observed

New Year’s Day

Monday, 2 January 2023

Additional DFAT Public Holiday

Monday, 13 February 2023

Canberra Day

Monday, 13 March 2023

Good Friday

Friday, 7 April 2023

Easter Monday

Monday, 10 April 2023

Reconciliation Day

Monday, 29 May 2023

Birthday of the Sovereign

Monday, 12 June 2023

Additional DFAT Public Holiday

Monday, 24 July 2023

Constitution Day

Thursday, 7 September 2023

Prophet Mohammed’s Birthday

Monday, 2 October 2023

Fiji Day

Tuesday, 10 October 2023

Diwali

Monday, 13 November 2023

Christmas Day

Monday, 25 December 2023

Boxing Day

Tuesday, 26 December 2023

 

Australian Government representation

The following Australian Government departments are represented at the High Commission: